Environmental Science Program Faculty

Dr. Stephen R. Overmann, Director of Environmental Science
Dept. of Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Environmental toxicology of terrestrial vertebrate wildlife
e-mail: srovermann@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/overmann/sro/

Dr. Christine C. Aide
Dept. of Physics and Engineering Physics, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests:  Light reflectance and  plant fertility, hydrothermal clay alteration.

e-mail: ccaide@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/smith-aide/

Dr. Michael T. Aide, Chair of Agriculture
Dept. of Agriculture, School of Polytechnic Studies
Research Interests: Metal speciation and reactions in soils; arctic soils genesis
e-mail: mtaide@semo.edu
homepage:  https://www.semo.edu/agriculture/faculty.htm

 

Dr. Mohammed H. Ali
Dept. of Chemistry, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Environmentally benign chemical processes
e-mail: mhali@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/ali/

Dr. Allen J. Bornstein
Dept. of Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Impact of human activities on plant communities and populations
e-mail:  abornstein@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/bornstein/home/index.htm

Dr. Jim Champine
Dept. of Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Molecular biology of bacterial bioremediation of organic pollutants
e-mail: jchampine@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/champine/

Dr. Philip W. Crawford, Chair of Chemistry
Dept. of Chemistry, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Heavy metals in environmental media; electroanalytical chemistry
e-mail:  pcrawford@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/crawford/crawford.html

Dr. Gary J. Cwick

Dept. of Physics and Engineering Physics, College of Science and Mathematics

Research Interests: Remote sensing evaluation of natural resources and human impacts
e-mail: gjcwick@semo.edu
homepage:  http://www6.semo.edu/pep/faculty/cwick/homepage.asp

 

Dr. William R. Eddleman, Chair of Biology
Dept. of Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Effects of land use practices on birds; wetland wildlife
e-mail: weddleman@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/eddleman/homepage.htm

Dr. Matthew Fasnacht
Dept. of Chemistry, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests:  Environmental photochemistry, photochemistry of water pollutants
e-mail:  mfasnacht@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/fasnacht/

 

Dr. Christina L. Frazier, Associate to the Provost for Data Analysis and Assessment
Dept. of Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Environmental factors in arthropod-borne virus transmission
e-mail: cfrazier@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/cfrazier/

 

Dr. H. Hamner Hill, Chair of Political Science, Philosophy, and Religion
Dept. of Political Science, Philosophy, and Religion, College of Liberal Arts
Research Interests: Environmental law; bankruptcy laws vs. environmental laws
e-mail: hhill@semo.edu
homepage:  cstl-cla.semo.edu/hill/

Dr. Alan R. P. Journet
Dept. of Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Conservation and restoration of tropical and Midwestern forests
e-mail: ajournet@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/journet/

 

Dr. Tahsin Khalid
Dept. of Elementary, Early, and Special Education, College of Education
Research Interests:  Environmental education
e-mail:  tkhalid@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-coe.semo.edu/khalid 

Dr. John Kraemer, Director of Center for Environmental Analysis
Dept. of Biology, College of Science & Mathematics
Research interests: Environmental impacts of agricultural chemicals, degradation of water pollutants
e-mail: jkraemer@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/Kraemer/

Dr. Chris McGowan, Dean of the College of Science and Mathematics
Dept. of Chemistry, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Organic geochemistry of fossil fuels; sulfur species in coal; perchloric acid
e-mail: cwmcgowan@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/mcgowan/index.htm

Dr. David A. Starrett, Dean of University Studies and Academic Information Services, Director of the Center for Scholarship in Teaching and Learning
Dept. of Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests:  Biotechnology impacts on, and promise for, the environment
e-mail:  dstarrett@semo.edu
homepage:  http://www.semo.edu/ustudies/dean.htm

 

Dr. John E. Tansil
Dept. of Physics and Engineering Physics, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Energy production and demand
e-mail: tansil@physics.semo.edu
homepage:  http://www6.semo.edu/pep/faculty/tansil/homepage.asp

 

Dr. Nicholas H. Tibbs
Dept. of Physics and Engineering Physics, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Environmental geoscience; geoscience pedagogy
e-mail: ntibbs@semo.edu
homepage: http://www6.semo.edu/pep/faculty/tibbs/homepage.asp

 

Dr. Margaret Waterman
Dept. of Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests: Case study approach to science education
e-mail:  waterman@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/waterman

Dr. William L. Weber
Dept. of Economics and Finance, Harrison College of Business
Research Interests: Effects of pollution production on business efficiency and productivity
e-mail: wlweber@semo.edu
homepage:  Harrison College of Business News: ., Southeast Missouri State University

Dr. Diane L. Wood
Dept. of Biology, College of Science and Mathematics
Research Interests:  Aquatic insect community ecology and stream ecosystems
e-mail:  dwood@semo.edu
homepage:  http://cstl-csm.semo.edu/wood/

 

For more information about the program contact srovermann@semo.edu.

Go to Environmental Science Program Homepage

Go to Southeast Missouri State University Homepage

Last revision: January 24, 2010

Copyright 2010, Southeast Missouri State University
Disclaimer